Model/Texture/Animation Updates in CS:GO

Started by Nocturne, August 23, 2013, 12:26:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Nocturne

Hi guys, I stumbled across this tool yesterday in my angry search for some working tools for source, it's been so long since I've done it that nothing seems to really work anymore!

Anyway, thank you thank you for this tool! If I can get it to help me I'm becoming premium straight away!

I'm a professional 3D artist and used to make maps in and models for Source, but never compiled them, our programmer always did that so I never learned.

I was wondering if someone can give me a really quick and basic outline of replacing say the knife in CS:GO with a custom model using either new animations or the same, I can fill in the gaps there, because there's quite a lot to this tool but things seem a bit different for the new CS.

I have the models and textures already done etc, I'll just need to skin and rig which I know how to do but not sure if there's any Source specifics I don't know about.

If anyone can give me a quick step-by-step, that would be great!

Thanks guys!
Noc

wallworm

Welcome to Wall Worm!

I'll try to share some more insight later tonight or this weekend. The main thing is to make sure your model is skinned to bones named the same as they are used in game. Making sequences is straight forward as you animate the bones (or just nodes) and create named sequences in the Sequence Rollout of Wall Worm Model Tools. That page is probably a little out-of-date but should at least be helpful.

Nocturne

Wow, thanks for the quick reply!

So, I have two knife replacement models, one is another knife, which I can use to see if I can just get something in-game, without having to make animations. And the other one is a baton which will need it's own anims.